Reminding yourself to breathe again

0906111858bAfter months and months of sending out resumes I finally got two inquiries back in response and interviews set up. Thus, began one of the most stressful times in job career searching life when I juggled setting up interviews each day and worried if both, one, or none would be interested in me. Turns out both were, but I decided on the one and went full stream ahead with my choice.

Once I saw the set up of the place, and also saw some people smiling at me hello, I decided in my head that they had to know this is what I wanted. After all of my time searching, sending out resumes and hearing nothing, my job search stress reached an all time high.

I couldn’t sleep at all for several days, even though I tried to go to sleep early. Waiting for the one place to contact me was a serious emotional roller coater. There was the high of giving, what I thought, was a good practical, and the low of time passing hour after hour without any contact. Each hour put me in a deeper hole of the idea of starting this all over again, and losing this place I really wanted. My days before these interviews were spent checking from the moment I woke to the moment I went to sleep checking websites for new prospects. I’ve never had a job search mean so much to me, and put everything on the line and made sure to sell myself in the interview.

In the evening of the day where I’d be hearing back about the job I wanted I got a text and wondered if it was my husband or my mother. Luckily, it was the job, telling me they wanted to hire me and to come in tomorrow to finalize things and to talk about my schedule. The relief I felt was immediate, and literally it felt like I could breathe for the first time in a while.

0628111941bI’ve started working at a record pace and don’t mind it one bit, It was welcomed after the time I have spent worrying. There are new techniques and modalities I get to learn, and of course, a different way of doings things. There is probably a whole different approach to everything even though it still is in my career I love, massage. Every place has a different way, a different style, but I look forward to the experience of learning and hopefully over time mastering it all over again.

It’s a new start, a new place, a new job, and I’m of course working with new people and clients. There seems to be that question of why I moved when people find out I’m not from around here, but I don’t mind answering it. It’s so nice to be able to say I have a job and that I’m able to keep on practicing in my career and it is like a huge weight being lifted off my shoulders. This whole experience wasn’t easy and it was much move difficult than I could ever imagine. I made the unfortunate assumption it would be a piece of pie and obviously it wasn’t.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Congratulations on your new job!!!

    Reply
  2. Wow, congratulations for your new job.

    Reply
    • Thank you! I’m very glad to have an income coming in and to be working again, even if its harder for me to plan traveling into my future plans and how to work that out. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Fantastic news! Well Done 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

