The Prospects

131I gotta admit, I am a little overwhelmed this week with what is going on. First off, we just recently got back from our trip to a very cold, yet, beautiful area for my husband’s birthday. I am yet to be unpacked, and surprisingly through maybe a deal with black magic I have two job interviews lined up for next week. These two job interviews are the first I’ve ever had since moving, and I have been moved and looking for a place to work for more than six months.

I always thoroughly research places before I send them my resume. First off, I google map where they are located, secondly I read all of their reviews, and thirdly I find the place. I try to drive there beforehand so I can remember how to get to it better. Whenever I’ve been to a place before its easier for me to find than if I never saw it before. Maps aren’t my thing, I can’t read them, and getting lost is awful but what’s even worse is arriving late with a job on the line.

There is the one massage job located nearby to where I live. It looks very pretty, from a far of course, and I can’t believe I got an interview there. The location is closer to where I’m living. The second is the exact opposite, actually a little more of a drive but not bad, and they would be in a cute little lifestyle mall. Little boutique shops are all around it and it does look like nice inside as well.

172Of course, having an interview doesn’t mean that I’m guaranteed a job, but it does mean I have two feet in the door. I’m very nervous, and anxious about both and I hope I interview well. I’ve tried the idea of having my own business but I don’t feel safe with going to a house for massage unless if I know them well. I’m not closing the door on that thought, but I know I really do love working with a team than by myself.

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Do you worry about your interviewers potentially finding out about this?

    Reply
    • No, actually, which is one of the reasons why I write anonymously. I enjoy writing about my work, massage, and try to keep any facts about myself very limited and where I work very limited too. I keep names out of my posts, where I live, have lived, etc. private.

      Reply
      • Ahh well good luck with the interview – I admire your anonymity!

      • Thank you for the luck! It’s hard being anonymous, but I think it’s important for me to write honestly and it’s not easy to do at times either.

  2. Good luck on your interviews!

    Reply
  3. Thats kinda crazy about how you “prepare” for your interviews. But hey, if they land you its cause they deserve you. You are the type of employee people want!

    Reply
    • Well, I have to drive to t beforehand to understand how to get there, there is no other way for me to know where I’m going. And, I find that reading reviews about a place is just doing a good job to see how clients are satisfied with the place. Thank you very much, I’m very anxious about it!

      Reply
  4. LetSdeG

     /  January 28, 2013

    It’s great that you have this opportunity and it is smart to be prepared. Though it is hard to do and easy to say, it is also important to just relax and walk in there like you are the best darn person for that position. Good luck!

    Reply
    • I am really happy to have two places interested in me, and both are so different from the other, that is definitely a huge contrast and I’m really excited for the one tomorrow. Very true about walking in like you own the place, confidence is key and definitely a selling point! Thank you for the luck and your comment! 🙂

      Reply
  5. That’s great news about the interviews. Even getting them must be a nice boost after all this time. Wishing you the very best of luck and hope it all goes really well! Rooting for you in Berlin 🙂

    Reply
    • I know, I was both surprised, shocked, and not going to deny that I was a little overwhelmed by the interviews coming out of nowhere. Thank you for rooting for me, it really means a lot to me!

      Reply
  6. Good luck on the inverviews!!! You will do GREAT, I just know it!

    Reply
    • Aww, thank you, I actually did end up doing great at them, go figure! I love the boost of confidence everyone gave me with my blog, it was much needed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

