That infamous white dress

0905110937a

I was the type of person who could never see herself being married, being a bride, and never, ever, planned her wedding day as a child. I never knew about wedding dress styles, mermaid, princess, and all of those other ways of wearing a white dress. I didn’t even want to wear a wedding dress on my day because I was just that anti bride about it. I didn’t see myself as one to follow traditional ways and, surprisingly, did end up with a white dress.

This white dress was sexy and when I put it on I knew I liked how it showed off my curves. But, I have never really fully embraced my body and I took off the dress without taking it home. My husband had already moved without me, my work still didn’t know I was leaving, and I had to show my husband all the dresses I tried on via texting.

See? Talk about breaking all the traditional rules! I wanted my husbands opinion on the dresses since the main bulk of them were colored. I wanted him to enjoy and like my wedding dress, even though he always says I look pretty all the time.

Most brides absolutely love the thrill of shopping for a wedding dress. Some of them can’t get enough of the rush of trying on dress after dress and wondering if it is the one. They wonder if the dress they are in will compare or even live up to their fairy tale dream wedding.It’s the dream they’ve been molding for their wedding because they always knew they’d by a bride. It was just a matter of when the groom came into the picture to propose to start the gears turning of getting their wedding wishes.

I was the exact opposite, of course, and when I started hunting for a dress it was a couple of months before the wedding date because of our venue. I hated the dress shopping as soon as it started, and tried on so many different dresses that my frustration was at an all time high. I never went to a bridal shop and just went to stores, and only tried on two official ‘wedding’ dresses. The first was so poofy that I thought that it might drowned me in its fabrics. And, the second was the one I would try on, think about it, come back, and try on again to decide it would be mine.

My wedding dress was not $2,000 or $1,000 or $5,000… It was a little over $150. I did not buy new shoes for it in white high heels, instead I wore my trusty black sandals that had saved my feet many a time. I think the thing that made me feel most like a bride was on my wedding day getting my hair and makeup done by my work as a goodbye gift. I was not only giving up my blood family as a bride that day, but also my work family I’d come to love.

I tried to get my husband to go for us eloping, and he pushed for a huge wedding at first, but we found a happy compromise of only a few people at it. I never saw myself in a wedding dress, and never imagined being in traditional white, but I did end up in one. The dress embraced my curves, and definitely showed them off. The infamous white dress and the amazing work my coworkers did on me made me feel as beautiful as my husband always told me I was.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Reena

     /  December 12, 2012

    I think i was the bride who didn’t care much about wedding dress. On our civil wedding, my husband wanted me to wear white and long wedding gown, but i just wore knee-length beige dress. Then, on our wedding in the Philippines, i don’t have time to buy my dress so while in the CZ, i called my sisters in the Phil. to choose whatever they like and fit them, also not white 🙂

    Reply
    • I have met those girls who have had everything planned out, and I’ve been to at least one wedding in my life and it was stunning (with lots and lots of wine too, oh yay!) My husband and I did a civil wedding too and when I told my girls at work, and my clients, what I was doing they had a bunch of ideas of what I should do. I came across your pictures of your wedding and just loved them! I say as long as you get to do what you want for your special day, whether it’s big or small, that’s what matters.

      Reply
  2. Awww, this was such a great post! And I hear you, shopping for a wedding dress (or any dress for that matter) can be frustrating! But it sounds like your story had a happy ending and that you found the perfect one. 🙂

    Reply
    • Aww, why thank you, I’m glad you liked it! Oh my goodness, I thought it was just me with the feelings of despair when it comes to dress shopping, it’s just so hard finding something that looks good. I definitely couldn’t have seen myself in a different dress and it was pretty perfect, simple, vintage, elegant, and sexy. Plus, my husband loved it, win win!

      Reply
  3. It sounds like you still had a dream wedding especially with marrying a man who truly cares about your feelings and thoughts

    Reply
    • Awww, very true Marina! It was perfect for me and definitely with finding a man who loves me for me and does care about my thoughts and feelings. That is so very true! 🙂

      Reply
  4. I really love dresses and when I was younger I dreamt of a white wedding. But when I got to choosing an outfit for my wedding, I found it totally ridiculous to spend lots of hard-earned cash on a dress that I’d only wear for a couple of hours in my life. I found it a rather pointless and senseless thing to do. I bought mine from a store in London and it cost me less than $150 because I got it at a discounted price. So for half the price of a normal wedding dress I had a five day vacation in London AND bought my wedding dress 😉 I still loved my wedding outfit and I’m not sure I’d have gotten one any different if money were not a problem!

    I’m not gonna say big weddings are not lovely because they are. But they’re not for everyone. Not everyone is cut to host a party. My now-husband hates being in the centre of attention. We opted for a small wedding, because I did not want my husband to dread the day we start our married life. And because I’d rather take an out-of-continent trip with the amount of money we would have spent if we decided to host a big wedding reception. Everyone should be free to do what they please in order to celebrate their marriage. What bugs me is that there seems to be a “traditional” way to celebrate weddings and people who don’t follow it, get judged for it.

    Reply
    • Oh my goodness, I love that you bought your dress for $150 and I’m sure that it looked just gorgeous on you on your special day. For me personally I feel the same way about that one time dress costing a lot of money and I’d rather put that money into something else… Like a fabulous honeymoon. 😉
      The first wedding I went to was for someone in my husbands family, it was huge, at a winery which was an absolutely stunning location and a gorgeous wedding overall. But, contrary to many people who meet me think, I do not like being the center of attention either. I think that is fantastic you guys had such a great honeymoon and got to go to so many new locations together as husband and wife. I do agree that non traditional weddings do tend to get judged and I felt that a lot when I told people I was going to do a civil wedding. But, all that matters is what makes you and your husband happy in the end!

      Reply
  5. I don’t believe the bride-to-be has to dedicate a year of her life to plan a wedding and spend a ridiculous amount of money. It becomes a production 😦 I feel people get so carried away with the “must-be-perfect” everything that they are unable to enjoy their special day when it finally comes. I spent exactly 3 weeks planning my own wedding and everybody ended up having fun.

    Reply
    • Very true, and you make some very valid points about it sometimes becoming a production or the focus on it being absolutely perfect can make it difficult too. Really nothing in my wedding went as planned but I never strived for perfection and was on a tight schedule to get to the airport the same day as my wedding. I say as long as its what you want, and you have fun, and don’t lose sight of what marriage and marrying your better half is, that is all that matters.

      Reply
  6. Oh, I wish you had posted a picture so we could see how pretty you looked! I love your attitude. Too many people focus on the wedding day, so unimportant really when you consider that what you should really be focusing on is the next 50 years!

    Reply
    • Aww, why thank you so much, unfortunately I can’t post pictures because I like to keep this as anon as I can but I was looking quite foxy! 😉 yeah, the wedding day seems to be the main focal point, a huge celebration, but you gotta look at it after that ‘perfect’ wedding day because life is anything but perfect. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Reply
  7. Some of the best weddings I’ve been to have had non-traditional dresses. In the end, the best dress is one that makes you happy (and doesn’t cost a forturne, in my book, don’t see the sense in it).

    Reply
    • I dont get invited to weddings, and I’ve only been to two in my life. I definitely agree the best dress is the one you feel most comfortable in and yourself, beauty doesn’t necessarily have to be pain on your wedding day. 😉 And, that the dress doesn’t cost a fortune, I totally agree with that too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

