When a stray walks into your life

It is amazing how you think you know that you have everything you may have, like just one pet, and then another one almost gets run over in front of your eyes. All I could see was this long, fluffed up, furry tail almost get run over by a car and it darting underneath a stationary car for cover. I love cats, always have, and I don’t know what compelled me to come over to where the cat was hiding and offer it my hand with a, “here, kitty, kitty!”

Much to my surprise the kitty came with a pathetic meow and it came over to rub on my leg. This wasn’t a feral cat, he was too sweet as he immediately started purring when I was petting him. The cat followed me as I walked around and I went into our apartment office to ask if he was lost or what I should do. When I came back out the cat leapt out of the bushes as if he was waiting for me and came straight over.

It broke my heart, to tell you to honest truth, to see this friendly, affectionate, sweet, and curious little cat out wandering around in the street basically waiting to be run over. I swear that it was a house cat and it reminded me of our family cat we came across the same way. He was a stray running through a parking lot and my family brought him home after he was nearly run over by a car.

I reasoned in my head why I couldn’t save the cat, and why I had to ignore him. We have our little bunny at home, my husband is extremely allergic to cats, and I kept telling myself he wouldn’t be okay with it. When I told my husband over the phone how worried I was about the wandering stray he told me it was alright if I wanted to track it down and bring it in.

So, I went back outside, calling out “kitty, kitty!” and secretly hoping I’d find the cat, and at the same time hoping I wouldn’t because I didn’t know what I would do. I walked back and forth and got some weird looks as I paced frantically where I saw the cat last and calling out to it. My husband went on the quest once he got home from work and when it seemed like I wouldn’t find him he said maybe someone picked the cat up. Finally, right at when I was going to give up the fluffy long tailed lemur cat came bounding out and running in my direction.

Then, came the problem of getting a stray into our garage. It was pretty hilarious when my husband brought out a box and told the cat to get in it, and the cat actually did climb right in it! But, when my husband started walking with the cat in the box it ended up crawling out onto his shoulder. It was adorable, and I decided to try my luck with picking up and carrying the stray. He seemed to like being held, which solidified for me that this cat used to being in a home, and he definitely wasn’t scared of people.

We now have this adorable, affectionate, sweet cat downstairs with some of my old clothes, food, water, and some boxes to sleep in. I don’t know what we’re going to do and I know I did the right thing… I just don’t know where to go next. My husband is allergic to cats and I have a bunny who I don’t think would take kindly to a cat sharing her space.

20121207-004207.jpg

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You are so sweet!!
    My husband has forbade me from taking in any more strays. I get a little crazy.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the sweet comment but the kitty escaped and is now who knows where. 😦 it was such a sweet, adorable, loyal, playful little alley cat it broke my heart it wasn’t in a loving home and that my husband is so terribly allergic to cats. Though my bunny stomped her feet at it it was all so cute seeing them meet and made me want to keep it even more. If my husband forbade me from tracking it down and taking it in for the night I wouldn’t be feeling so bad! It’s easy to get crazy with saving strays especially when they are in your apartment complex and the sweetest thing ever. I feel heartbroken today, I want to find it and see if it’s okay, I know, I’m crazy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

