Bring it on gobble gobble

I must be insane, or just plain crazy, or maybe a nice mixture of a little bit of both. I have both a turkey and a ham and I’m planning to cook them for thanksgiving for the first time in my life. Now, let’s not forget I have been adventurous in my house wife chef title and also rather surprisingly successful at cooking lately. I’ve made Cornish game hens, pork for the first time, steak, homemade baked French frites, and a wide number of unassisted dishes that have turned out rather delicious 99.9% of the time.

I’m getting cocky with all of my successes by myself, and having dinner ready on time for my husband when he comes in the door. We already have some favorite recipes I’m replicating week by week with tweaks that make it come out just as good or better. Yet, I just can’t help but to admit…

I am kind of scared of that turkey, and throw in that ham and I think I might be just asking for a holiday meltdown. I’m terrified to see if the turkey has defrosted and I have a sneaking suspicion it is stubbornly not going to defrost in time. Unlike my normal cooking expeditions where I don’t need any help I have made my husband promise to not leave me alone with cooking these two monster amounts of meat. He then kiddingly plays with me that he’ll help me… By pointing to the page on how to do it, which is not okay by me at all.

And, this is coming from the girl who successfully baked some homemade brownies for the first time in her life recently for my husband to bring in for his coworkers. This turkey has me terrified and why, oh why, did we have to get a ham too? Oh, wait, I know why! Because the ham was free with buying a turkey and why not double up stress and gobble it up too?

My husband and I are making new traditions, it’s the first time we are doing the holidays by ourselves. Normally my family goes to a restaurant thanksgiving day buffet and last year we did that and I got so severely sick I don’t know how I made it in to work. For someone who never really had a home cooked thanksgiving or Christmas meal I feel like my husband and I are making a really nice tradition even if the only family we have is us and our little bunny.

It’s the tradition of hopefully learning together to make a really great and somewhat traditional holiday meal. It’s hopefully a tradition of not going to the movie theater to have dinner on popcorn because that’s the only place that is open on thanksgiving or Christmas. It’s a day with some stress, but with the focus on being together and not creating more stress when there’s no reason to.

I miss my family, and will miss my husband’s family too over the holidays. Gifts will be sent by mail and I can’t think of a more stressful year than what me and my husband have been through with our move, his job change, and my job loss. But, I am thankful to have him, and our new little pet bunny, be my family for the holidays. And, I must say, he better be helping me with these giant pieces of meat because the thought of not cooking them completely might give me nightmares tonight!

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I can see why you’re stressed, but you know what’s stressing me out? My husband bought a 16-pound turkey FOR THREE PEOPLE! What the hell am I supposed to do with all that leftover turkey? Oh, goodness – that’s my stress. Coming up with different soups and sandwiches and enchiladas and good gawwwwd, probably turkey pot pies, too? It’s just too much, but I think it’s hilarious that this is my only problem this year. LOL Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

    Reply
    • Ha, dena, you are so the cooking/baking guru, I have seen your blog, your food looks amazing! The turkey and ham turned out good but the leftovers were WAY too much for two people. I was eating turkey and ham for dinner and lunch for days and days. From what I saw of your leftovers from thanksgiving on your blog everything looked delightful! Now we have cooking for Christmas to worry about next, oh joy! 😉

      Reply
      • Well, thank you! It’s too bad Thanksgiving and Christmas are so far apart – it’d be nice to use Turkey day leftovers for Christmas (though some things can be frozen). I have no clue what we’re having for Christmas dinner, maybe just pizza. HA!

      • Oh, tellme about it with the leftovers! We have so much in the frig we just couldn’t eat it all and got burned out after eating it for lunch and dinner for like a week. Pizza sounds unconventional and if you get it from the right place, totally delicious! 😉

  2. Turkey is really easy. The ham would scare me. Hope you end up having a great day. Oh, and both items freeze really well, So you don’t have to try to figure out what to do with the left overs all in one week. Freeze it and spread the turkey goodness out.

    Reply
    • This may be a little lae responding but the turkey and the ham turned out good, but my husband took control of the cooking because I wasn’t feeling the best that day. The leftovers are so much that I am super burnt out on turkey and ham, definitely too much food for two people!

      Reply
      • One turkey alone is probably too much for two people. I hope it was a great day despite not feeling well.

  3. Ha, ha! Turkey scares me too!! I hope it all came out great! 🙂

    Reply
  4. My son and daughter-in-law moved to Vancouver for his job. For the first months she was jobless and friendless. I knew things were really bad when she spent half a day scrubbing a stain in her bathtub and started cooking. 🙂
    She hates cooking. BTW she took a short term job in a retail store until her dream job came up.

    Reply
    • Wow, your daughter in law sounds kind of like me with my move! I’ve taken up cooking too and found out I’m really good at it, luckily, so my husband is getting spoiled with dinner being ready when he walks in the door. I’m not hating cooking as much now that I get how to do it and it kind of calms me down at the end of the day. I might just have to do the same as her and try out a job in retail until someone hires me for massage, who knows. It’s just hard moving and my heart goes out to your daughter in law, I hope things are working better for her now with her move to a new place. 🙂

      Reply
      • Ash is all good now. Was hired full time as an events promoter for a radio station, The Beat. She has a blog too. Not sure if I’m supposed to do this, but here’s her blog. It’s really cute even if I’m biased.
        ashlyandmonkey.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

