Unexpected family addition

I know what you are thinking, I talk about not wanting babies and suddenly now I am posting about an unexpected family addition. No, instead we got a family addition completely spur of the moment and I was the last person to expect it. The husband saw a pet shop and veered toward it, I told him we shouldn’t because we can’t have a pet because of his allergies. I was going to keep walking straight but he insisted and we walked in.

I have owned a horse before, our family has owned many cats over the years since I was a little girl and when I was five we had a sweet older dog. I’ve also owned geckos, collected insects from caterpillars to crickets so I have had some experience with animals.

But, I’ve never owned the type of an animal we ended up getting. She was tiny, so cute, and like I said, “a little ball of terror!” she was very quiet. My husband got the okay to hold her and she was just adorable and he held her close to his chest. She tolerated all of the chaos of the pet shop and tons of people walking by and picking her up and petting her. There was a guinea pig who seemed like he was smart and was running away from people touching him but she just stood there. My husband held her and she was so adorable in his arms and just sat there perfectly.

I never imagined owning a pet with my husband because of his terrible allergies, I never thought we could own something furry. And, with our huge disagreement on dogs vs. cats I thought we would never have a fur ball because he would only want a dog and I’ve been a cat person for years. So, we ended up with a pet I’ve never had and had to research once we got her. When I finally held her because I was pretty certain we could get her I teared up because I was so happy and just loved the little bundle of fur.

So, what is our new little family member? Well, she is a rambunctious baby rabbit! I’ve never owned a bunny in my life and she is so different from any other animal I’ve ever owned. She’s incredibly smart and full of energy but she also likes to just sit on your chest and chill for an hour relaxing with you while you watch tv. I’ve done a ton of research on rabbits since we bought her to make sure we are feeding her right, exercising her enough, and giving her all that she needs.

She makes a mess constantly with her shavings and hay when she leaves her cage, yet I don’t mind picking up after her. My husband loves her to death too and it may sound weird but I can’t imagine not having our little furry girl around.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Aww a bunny! I’m deadly allergic to those but I love the nice soft fluff of them 🙂 this post lacks one critical ingredient though (omg I sound like one of those spam messages that tells you the blog is great but you completely missed the point yada, anyways) a picture of the bunneh obviously 😀

    Reply
    • I think both me and my husband might be allergic to her actually but we would never give her up, she’s like our little baby girl. You are totally not one of those crazy spam comments and I know what you mean, I will have to see if I can post a picture of her with a mini bunny mask on! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

