Do I submit to the “F” monster?

I’ve been thinking about having a Facebook. Yes, I know, scold me, stare in disbelief, but I have avoided Facebook since it first came to life and with being aware of my mother’s stalker-like tendencies.  Plus, I’d rather not have exes come across me either and the only way they could find me is, you guessed it, Facebook. Now, I know there are privacy settings, and all that, but I’ve always been a stickler for traditional contact. Even an email is traditional to me, but I also like cards, letters, packages, it’s just my thing. And, I don’t want to think of someone waving hello at me by simply ‘liking’ my status, I would like real contact.

I don’t know, I just haven’t been drawn to Facebook and have noticed how my co-workers would get worked up stalking through their friend’s Facebook. Many “Oh my god! Did you just see that comment? They just put a smiley face at the end of it, I hate them!” Seriously, there was this one girl who would stare down at her phone and randomly break out into hysterical laughter.

Or she would just snort with laughter, right behind me, making me think she was laughing at my lean cuisine lunch… again. I know I want to stay in contact with people, and I’m afraid one of the only ways to do it now-a-days is to submit to Facebook.

I just have to resist the stalker-like tendencies I inherited from my mother if I do do it. I’m not sure if I want to, because most interview forms for Spas as I’ve checked out online actually include your Facebook if you have one. And, I don’t want a work I don’t even know stalking me unless if I say go ahead, just stalk me already.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Noooooooo DON’T do it!! it’s really good to keep in touch I’ll give you that, but it’s addictive and it’s so full of BULLSHIT… it’s like a competition of who leads the better life. I wish everyday I never joined Facebook and hope I’ll muster enough willpower to one day delete my account!

    Reply
    • You are so funny, I know, but I miss my friends a lot from the move and they won’t text me back that consistently unless if I badger them every day. 😦 I know I’d probably be caught up in the petty stuff but mail, phone calling, even texting just isn’t the way to communicate with people nowadays…. the only way you get them is on Facebook, and it’s annoying, I’m trying not to give in!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

