How do you even give your 2 weeks notice?

To tell you the truth, I don’t even know how I’m going to do this. I have only quit one other job in my life and it was after 2 years, nearly 3 years working there. This, is so much more difficult than that because I truly don’t want to leave my work. I love my work, I love my co-workers, I love my room I work on, I love my clients I see and that are my repeats, I am very happy at the career I’m at and where I have been working for going on 3 years.

They’ve been very kind to me and I’ve just started to get my feet wet in training and being a coach. I held my own class which went so well and I loved every minute of it as long as I wasn’t planning and being nervous about it beforehand. They’ve always been so understanding when I’ve needed time off, or I’ve gotten sick, or my stupid ankle has gone out yet again.

They are a great company and though they aren’t perfect all the time, neither am I. I really do love them and I’m very passionate for not only where I work, but just all of my co-workers who are my fellow employees. I’ve been so sad, heartbroken really, to think about the coming probability of leaving and what I’m going to say to them.

I don’t know what to say to them, I don’t know how I’m going to say this.
The mere thought of leaving makes me cry. I’ve cried in my sleep thinking about it, cried at home, cried in the car, I’ve ended up crying even when I tell myself not to. And, I don’t want to become a blubbering fool, but I’m unfortunately aware of the fact I will become that fool once I start talking about it. You’d think moving away from my family would be difficult, and it is, and I’m sure it’ll only hit me that thousands of miles separate us when I finally am moved down there. But, I know I will try to see my family as often as I can. And, the main family member I’m afraid I won’t see as much as I’d like is my brother because of his work and wanting to multi-task with doing things when he comes down to see me.

This was my first job out of massage school and they took me on as a new therapist and when I had the least amount of confidence in my career. The place I work at feels like a second family, and I feel like I’m going to be leaving my second family.

I know this is the best thing for my fiancée, and it has to be the best thing for me too. He loves his new job and now has people underneath him and is a true manager. I’ve never moved so far away in my life and I’m terrified, and I think what I’m most afraid of all is finding another job where I’m as passionate about where I work at. I can’t compromise and take any place, because I need to love what I do, where I work at, so I can be the best employee I can be. I want to push myself to the limits and keep on growing in what I do and I can’t do that if I don’t enjoy where I work at.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. If they know your fiance is working so far away, they may already be expecting this.

    Reply
    • They don’t, I’ve been keeping it secret so that’s part of the problem. It won’t be secret soon, but pretty much there isn’t anyone who knows my situation except for my Doctors, and of course my family.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

