Fast Food Kid

My mother never really cooked when I was growing up, mainly when I was like 4-5 years old I remember having a few home-cooked meals. We had an asparagus patch right outside our door in our own garden, and berry bushes that you could pick and eat yourself. We had an acre or more of land and I remember mainly just playing in my sandbox instead of exploring too far away. Even back then I knew I was a picky eater and refused pretty much everything.

I mainly ate grilled cheese, hot dogs, chicken breasts, anything without veggies or fruit. I even remember refusing to eat cheese ravioli and how I couldn’t stand the slippery texture of it as a little girl. Making a stand at the dinner table that I just wasn’t going to eat it.

My grandmother and I got into many fights about my finickiness as a kid. If I ever stayed over at her house, which was only a few times, she would try to force feed me the food and I’d just stubbornly keep my mouth shut. She told me that her daughter was just as picky as me, so maybe my grandmother was trying to relive the dinner fights they used to have. She kept on saying how she’d break me of my finickiness just like she did with her daughter.

My grandmother wouldn’t allow me to leave the table until I ate everything … which, hours later, I’d still be sitting there. I was a quiet kid, but extremely stubborn, with a vivid imagination so even when my grandmother tried to ‘punish’ me by keeping me at the table until very late at night, it didn’t bother me at all. I was making up stories in my head and chilling out letting the food chill down even more.

Not loving it so much now...

Obviously, I say this to state I was a damn picky kid. So, when we moved away from the one big house and into another, and as I got older, I mainly ate fast food. My mother stopped cooking because she was too busy, many times she’d leave me home alone in the afternoon until late evening because of her job, and of course my father was working. I had many, many times where I ate McDonald’s for dinner. Or, any other kind of fast food, it was definitely very common.

When I was homeschooled through mainly high school this diet definitely wasn’t the best. I don’t think I knew how to eat healthy, I didn’t have any concept of it. My mom doesn’t really eat any vegetables, fruits, so we never had any of them in the house. And, of course, I was still very picky so I’d probably keep my hands off them. My brother and I both ate the same so he wasn’t exactly the most careful with what he ate either. But, the problem was he was not as picky at eating than I was, so he’d make fun of me constantly for what I did or didn’t eat.

My whole family made fun of me when I ate. How I ate, how I picked the things I didn’t like out of the food that was given to me, how I refused to try new things. With them making fun of me, and my brother and I constantly fighting about this, it made me even more stubborn to stay in my ways. I’d have a fight almost every night and would be teased relentlessly about it. Of course, this gave me a bit of a food complex that is still with me today.

I smile now-a-days going with my brother to the healthy food market for his groceries and watching him throw organic milk and everything healthy in his cart. I smile because he used to eat pretty unhealthy and didn’t care. Even though he was never as picky as me, he still was never being careful until recently. I smile because now I’m getting my groceries from a healthy food place too. I’m still very finicky about what I eat, but I’m more willing to try new things.

I’m more willing to try fruits when before I’d basically just run from them or toss them back at you if you made an attempt to get me to try it. I definitely don’t go to a fast food place every day, I’m cooking food at home, and trying my best to watch what I’m eating.

So, I’ve grown out of a fast food kid and into hopefully a healthier adult.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m kind of weird about what and how I eat, as well. So is my daughter. She’s at an age where trying new foods is still “gross” but I’m older and should know better. I don’t. I considered it a good thing when my Mom did not cook while I was younger because the only thing she could really make was something she called a “meat pie” and it was not all that great. It’s still the only thing she can fix so I try to do all the cooking now! Mostly, I’m a creature of habit when it comes to eating…I stick with what I know and enjoy. This used to bother me because others were trying new food, why didn’t I? Then one day I just decided I didn’t care. I’m going to eat what I want to eat and I’m going to enjoy it! Take care and have a great day!

    Reply
    • Very true, my mom can be a pretty horrorific cook too, though sometimes she has her classic dinners that are really quite good. I love the “meat” pie idea your mom came up with, she probably through all the meat you guys had into a pie crust, threw it in the oven, and crossed her fingers for it to turn out well! I’m trying to do new things that are good for me, like I got some apples and some grapes to eat at my work lunch. I think that it’s good to not care what people think, eat as best as you can, enjoy it, and try not to worry about other people breathing down your shoulder to see what you have.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

