How many times do we poke my eye?

So, I went for another check-up with my glaucoma and to see what is going on with it. I am glaucoma suspect which means they don’t quite want to treat it, but there is some stuff that isn’t quite explained completely with it. Which, is why I went for the testing yet again.

I’m not a fan of anything to do with my eyes. I can’t seem to be able to handle without twitching anything to do with my eyes, especially when it comes to drops, or even worse, someone poking me in the eye. They had to test my cornea thickness with this one device, putting it in my eye, then spinning it.

The girl doing the test kept saying, “Well, we need to do it 3 times in each eye.” She did it like 20 times in my right eye, and like 10 times in my left. The device wasn’t working so I was trying to be a good sport, but even with the numbing drops it was causing me a lot of stress sitting there, being told to look ahead and keep my eye open, while this thing kept going in my eye and spinning around and around.

And when I did it just perfect, without trying to get away, the machine in my eye acted up and turned off. Again, and again, and I had a tissue ready to dab my eye in-between trying to get the machine started again. When it finally was over with that I needed to have the pressure test which is more accurate which is brought really close to both of my eyes and set inside of my eye, but it’s a lot quicker than the one test. I found out that my cornea are much thicker than a normal person, which is actually better than having thinner corneas. Also, the cupping in my optic nerves is like 50% in one and 60%, and this isn’t exactly good news. So, she’s watching me to see if my optic nerves get worse, or the cupping, and if anything changes.

I’m just happy to wait 3 months before my next testing, that was enough eye poking for several months.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I am the same way. Do NOT love it when things are near my eyes. It just creeps me out and makes me uncomfortable. Glad that’s over for you & it’ll be awhile before you have to go through it again. Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Yeah, I think I inherited it from my mom because she gets freaky about eye stuff too. The next check-up will be in 3 months, but that is sooo much better than 3 weeks! Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

