Skin Cancer Scared

My mother has skin cancer. She had it biopsied so that they could find out what form it is. She thought that not telling me would be a good thing because knowing would be just one more thing to be worried about. Well, that’s great, because now I have to worry about her hiding other stuff if something happens. They scrapped the piece next to her nose pretty deeply so that is slowly healing and I keep on telling her NOT to put makeup on it until it’s completely healed.

We won’t find out what it is, and the plan of action for it, until they get the results back.

I’ve nearly cried several times but have stopped myself. I have to stay strong, and with the surgery they do it will be like 8 hours or so she would be in there and it’s either on a Monday or a Thursday. Either way if I need to get time off for it I will because I’m going to be there for her. And if we can’t do the Vegas trip because the surgery will be before it then that is just the way it is.

It feels surreal, like it’s not happening. I’m hoping maybe it’s some kind of mix-up, though knowing it’s probably not. I just gotta keep strong for her, that’s what I keep telling myself.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. First off cry!!
    It helps put things in perspective. Crying can make you feel stronger ….
    Second, I hope she is ok.
    I will be thinking of your mother and you.

    Hugs!!

    Reply
    • Yeah, it’s what I haven’t done since I heard, I haven’t cried. It’s kind of hard for me to cry, I’ve always been taught to be strong and being strong is having control over your emotions, but one of these days I will just let myself cry and it should make me feel better.
      She is a little psyched out about it, she keeps on talking about how her mother had it in the exact same spot, and her mom died when she was young and before I was born. Plus, she’s researching skin cancer for the face and that is not helping things, I told her to stop that.
      Thank you for keeping me and her in your thoughts. She’s a tough cookie, it’s just we need to know the plan of action and what it is. Hugs back!

      Reply
  2. II have a scar on my right cheek from a large mole removed when I was three years old. It was itchy and the bumpy red part bled when scratched. Turns out it was Basal Cell Carcinoma.

    Reply
    • That is so scary! It just goes to show that something tiny can turn out to be something very big and dangerous. You never know what it could be unless if you get it checked out, I always told my clients to check out with their doctors any strange looking or changing moles because you just never know. 😦

      Reply
  1. skin cancer survival statistics

Leave a Reply

