Don’t assume I don’t have an education

I had a client yesterday who was a rare find for me to come across in my career… he was a talker. Now, I don’t mind talking, but pretty much 99.9% of my clients don’t like to talk during the treatment. Those who are in the .1% can talk about a wide range of things, yet you can group them into a couple of groups and they will fall into that.

Group A- I want to ask about your personal life

Group B- I want to talk about what’s going wrong in my life

Group C- I want to talk randomly about everything

I’d say a lot of my talkers want to talk about themselves, or if they are one who keeps on questioning about my own life, I will try to make the conversation be more about them. I don’t even like talking about my personal life to my co-workers, let alone a stranger I just met. The worst is when they get you to talk about your personal life and then start judging you. This drives me nuts, I just can’t stand people judging me especially when they absolutely don’t know me.

My guy yesterday was a definite talker. I haven’t come across a talker in a while, and with guys I find I’m not as much at ease talking to them as I am with my women clients. I’ve had some guy talkers have their conversations go into some weird places and it can make me uncomfortable. This is even rarer than coming across someone who wants to talk, but it’s happened before.

So, we were talking and he was a Group A. Wanted to know everything about me and this profession. How many hours I needed for massage school, if I went to massage school, if I needed liability insurance, how many different massage techniques are out there, what are the differences between chiropractic massage and massage in a spa, can massage be covered by health insurance. Whatever you can think of to ask me about massage he probably asked me. Clients in general might be a little bit curious, and he was definitely way past just a couple of questions about my career.

Then, he made an assumption I hadn’t heard before. “So, you went straight from High School into Massage School.”

I corrected his assumption, I let him know that I was in both college and massage school at the same time. Not only was I doing both of these at the same time (while juggling being in massage school full time, basically 5 days a week at 8 hours a day) I finished both massage school and college at the same time, in the same month. He then asked me why I didn’t continue with college and finish my Bachelor’s. I told him the truth, I just didn’t want to be bogged down by $30,000 or more in debt with a degree I may, or may not, be able to use. While I’ve been using my massage degree and license since I finished school.

Everyone who comes across me in this career think that this is just something I’m doing until I can’t do it anymore. I know this is the route I am taking even if I don’t want to admit it. Massage is physically demanding and tough on my body. It’s just that in the end the love I have for this career makes it worth the physical exertion I put myself through, which is true especially on the weekends.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. You’re doing something you love! Everything else is inconsequential. Lots of us with college degrees make less money than you do with 1. a job they’re not as passionate about, 2. a job they kind of hate and 3. lots and lots of debt. I say, go you!

    Reply
    • Yeah, I gotta say I do love what I do, though it is tough at times. You make a very valid point, I meet tons of clients who can’t stand their job and they feel much more stressed in their muscles than the people who enjoy what they do. And, the whole debt thing is totally a major turn-off for me too. Anywho, thank you very much for the comment!

      Reply
  2. Doing something you love makes you a very fortunate individual. Keep on keeping on …

    Reply
    • Yeah, I say it’s like 1-2% of the people that I meet who I can hear the passion behind what they do when they tell me about it. I’ll keep on keeping on, thank you for your comment!

      Reply
  3. Keep working and you will be the master 🙂 If you love your job and passionate about it you will be the winner 🙂

    Reply
    • I like the title of ‘The Master’, I dig it! 😉 That is a good way to look at it, being the winner cause’ you love and are passionate about what you do.

      Reply
  4. I couldn’t agree more with the comments above. Too many of us leave college with no skills, too much debt and with an education which we can’t put to use: Unless you want a career in academia, university is its own end. It’s there for your own fulfillment, your own development of ideas and knowledge, which you then take into the world and into a career which fulfils you and which you enjoy. The most high-flying of jobs can be the most under-stimulating. Getting out there, making people feel better and meeting people from all walks of life, like you get to do, is in my mind infinitely more rewarding and exciting than an office job, where your only interactions are with spreadsheets and the synthetic plant beside your desk.

    Reply
    • Well, I couldn’t agree more with everyone too! I know that getting a degree is great, but it does seem rather difficult applying it afterwards, depending on the type of degree you get. I think you have to go into it with a clear goal in mind, or a clear destination for where you want to be in the work force, and with college you always are figuring yourself out so this can change so many times. You totally hit the nail on the head, one of the things I love is meeting so many people, from so many walks of life, and affecting them in a positive way. I am their happy point in their week to look forward to (hopefully, it has happened before people being abandoned at the Spa and not being happy about it…) Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Reply
  5. That was pretty dumb of him.
    You are soooo lucky you are doing something you love! Most people have to learn to like their job and some never do.

    Reply
    • Yeah, it was pretty dumb of him and kind of unexpected for him to say that out of nowhere. I definitely agree I’m totally lucky, but I think it’s partially because of all of the different people I get to meet as clients, my co-workers I work with, and the fact you can never stop learning with this career, or finding new people. It’s why I keep on putting my body through what it does to me because well… I just can’t, and don’t want to, give it up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

