The Halloween Aftermath… being drowned in chocolate

Give me the Reese's!

I’ve been rather good at eating and I’ve prided myself in that. When, normally, I couldn’t care less and I didn’t even think of checking out food labels now I’m more careful. I don’t have desert and stay away from sweets as much as I can. But, I just can’t say no when it’s sitting there, staring at me, flashing its beautiful foiling for me to eat it. It’s seductive, it’s chocolate-y, and it’s bite-sized too.

It is the aftermath of Halloween candy.

See, I worked on Halloween day and we had candy to give out to the trick-or-treaters if we got any. We saved the good candy (all the chocolate stuff) in the back for us girls. Me and one of the managers stood in the back diving our arms deeply into a bag of Halloween candy searching for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. I think she and I ate all of them inside of that bag. It was a special moment we shared gobbling them down before anyone else walked into the break room and caught us in the act.

I’ve had way too much candy, but I can’t stop. Neither can my mother, she bought 2 lb bags of Halloween candy for her to eat that she says is for her work… yet I highly doubt that. I feel bad, but not bad enough to stop. I rarely ever buy myself chocolate and with it being around everywhere I turn I don’t have the will power to fight it. It ends up in my hands, then my mouth, and before I know it there is another unsuspecting little bite-sized morsel being shoved in before the other one is done with.

You know what is coming, right? First it’s Halloween to gorge yourself, then Thanksgiving as a never-ending buffet of turkeys and goodness, then Christmas to finish you off. It’s why we have New Years Resolutions, to feel less horrible about those three holidays of doom and expanded pants. I’m still going to end up eating like crazy!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Gluttony is my favorite deadly sin. Join us.

    Dark chocolate reese’s. That is all.

    Reply
  2. you’ve got got an excellent blog here! do you want to make some invite posts in my weblog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

