Give me the pretties!

This is my form of a pretty

The man kind of has a fascination with ‘pretty’ things. He says that’s why he picked me, because I’m a pretty myself. I don’t exactly believe him, especially after a rough work week and I look like walking death, but he’s very sweet.

He likes strange-looking trees, and things that sparkle and glitter. It always kind of gets me to laugh when we will be walking by and say there is some stained glass and he will just stop and stare at it. And… then take pictures. I can’t judge him because if a butterfly flies in front of my face, and stops at a nearby flower, I am so on top of that and taking pictures with my little camera phone. He’ll eventually sit himself on a bench because I won’t leave until it flies away.

Or, well, if he drags me away…

So, I told him to get started on looking at wedding bands so I have an idea what he wants and more importantly, how much it costs. So, his tendency for going after ‘pretties’ doesn’t stop with me, he’s looking at all sorts of bands with stones inside of it. He’s shown me a few of them and they are definitely unique, and he’s leaning more towards opal I think. Which, opal is one of my favorite stones since I was just a kid. I love the fire within the stone that changes with the sunlight.

He’s kind of funny though, he’s the opposite of me so he shares everything going on with his life with everyone. So, he says that some of the guys are teasing him at work about choosing the stones and all that. They are telling him that they think it’s a little too ‘girly.’ Which, I’m trusting him to see that line, but still get something that he really likes.

I’m going to mangle this $3,500 or so pendant that I got years ago and remove the diamonds from it to make my wedding band. The diamond chips in it are pretty good sized so I’ll have the diamonds go around in the circle for the band. Well, that’s going to be my idea. I never wear the pendant because it really isn’t my style, so I thought I’d make good use of it turning it into my wedding band so I can wear it all the time. We haven’t gone to any jewelers yet to see what they say, but I’d think it wouldn’t be too difficult. And, it’d be a lot cheaper for him to do so we have more money to save for the honeymoon.

I’ve never had to deal with thinking about rings, what I want, what to do, I generally don’t wear them. With my career it’s just inconvenient, and I end up leaving my engagement ring at home every day that I work. The man is so funny with his research for the perfect ring and within the ‘budget’ I set for it. Which is less than $400, which I’m thinking is still reasonable.

I get people to laugh at work when they ask when my wedding is. Seriously, I’m just starting to say instead of “eventually” that they should re-ask me in about December or January. I won’t know the dates until 3 months out, it’s the way of the beast with choosing the venue I want. It’s gonna be last second (at least in my terms it is) and I’ll sign in blood to get my time off.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

