Missing that Ball

Arizona, 2011, the wooden donkey

Sometimes I wonder why I purposefully miss the ball on things. Reading certain popular books I’ll wait until the fever for the book calms down years later and then try my hand at it. Same goes for my generally queasiness when it comes to social network sites. I was into doing blogs before blogs were even in. As a kid I’d make my own websites and create several blogs years and years ago, instead of doing homework. Whoops.

I’ve also never been the one to hunt after conventional jobs and careers. First I was a dog groomer for 2 1/2 years, now I’m a massage therapist for 3 years, and before that I did volunteer work with a nature garden, a space center-like place, and a bunch of other odd, but fun, things.

My favorite hobbies were like bowling, golfing, fishing, biking, bug collecting (since before I could talk I collected bugs in my plastic see-through purse) and many other…. non-girly stuff. I still hold onto a fascination with bugs to this day, and I’m absolutely enthralled with the ocean too. I find that so cool and if I could breathe air under water I’d probably never come up from a pool, or more importantly, the ocean if I had built-in gills.

Do I love the sound of not falling the crowd or is it just in me, since I was a child, to be well… rather an odd ball?

I think it’s probably the second one. There have always been people who shake their heads at me, who call me weird, strange, unusual, and many other words. And when I was younger this would make me self conscious, but now-a-days I puff out my chest, look them in the eye, give them a kooky smile and say, “What took you so long to figure that out?” 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

