When you dance and no one joins you…

Okay, so, I don’t really party too much. I’m very much a home body, and like to be by myself. And, well, I just never learned/wanted to party even before I was 21 or after for that matter. One of the girls at work was turning 21 and a bunch of work people were going so I decided I’d take the plunge and show up at dinner, and at the drinking hole of choice.

Why is it always on someone else’s 21st birthday party that I get free drinks and chug it down? I’m one of those cheap-o drinkers that can’t drink too much because I won’t spend the money, but if someone else has spent the money, and can’t finish their drink, or even better, got it for me, am I going to refuse it? No! I will toss that back with a merry little dance.

Talking about dancing, why is it that people need to have like 5 drinks before they can dance? Do they think that they have the mad skills of a true dancer after several of them? Or, more to the point, they have 5 or more drinks before they dance so that in the morning they forget about what they did. That’s probably the truer statement of the two. For me, I will just start busting my groove everywhere, anywhere, whether I’m drinking water or drinking a vodka whatever. I’m always the lone dancer, but whenever I hear music my hips start a moving, and then my shoulders, and suddenly I’m getting down with my bad self.

It’s a sickness I don’t want to be cured of. Oh no.

I stopped drinking at 2 drinks, then ended up being offered a shot or two. My mom was on high alert because she knew I was doing this and was already warning me to watch myself and texting me during the entire escapade. I had dinner with the girls at six, ended up over at the watering hole at eight, and ended up leaving around 12 o’clock at night. It was a fun time, but I’m glad I don’t do it that often. I had to kind-of-sorta parallel park and since I had problems doing this when I was stone cold sober I was a little nervous once I did have some drinks.

So, my mom keeps texting me. Do you want me to come over? I finally said yeah, that I was afraid getting out of the parking spot and it might be a situation. She shows up, I hop in my car, back up, head out, no problem. I’m following her like my beacon in the light. Then, she turns off where I know isn’t the way back home. I call her up, tell her she’s going the wrong way, but she’s going to hop on the tollway and wants me to too.

Well, I’m a bull-head. I took local and didn’t have a problem. Got back after her and decided to spend the night over at the folks because it was closer than going over to the man’s. Just to play it safe.

The aftermath of this drinking situation are a sour stomach, a pretty much sleepless night, but it could be worse. Every time I drink it seems to mess up my stomach, so I’m used to that, and my nose was congested so that didn’t help me sleep either. I don’t have to go to work today and I’m probably going down to see my brother and hang out with him. I think I got the drinking gene from him, my mother is a lightweight, and so is my father, and my brother… he’s like a fish. The stories of him drinking are quite something and hilarious. He’s more of a beer fan, I’m more of a vodka girl.

But, it’s nice these kind of partying days/nights aren’t too frequent (like hardly ever). My stomach tends to be upset by the tiniest things and you force a lot of alcohol for it to deal with and it’s not happy. And, if it isn’t happy, well, neither are you. Plus, unless if you are drinking with the drinkers it’s hard to communicate with them. It’s like you develop a second  buzzed/drunk language that even if you don’t understand them, it’s still somehow hilarious what anyone is saying.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Um, did I write this? LOL I can TOTALLY relate!

    I don’t go out partying often but every once in a good while I do enjoy it! Dancing is so much fun, I don’t know why people have to have a drink in order to do it! Give me a couple of funky beats and I’ll start grooving wherever whenever, simply because I enjoy it! Tipsy driving, not my forte! And I’m a vodka girl myself although my stomach doesn’t quite agree. Everytime I have a couple of drinks I spend the next day with my head down the loo. And yes, coupling a hangover with a congested nose really DOES suck.

    Enjoyed your post very much 🙂

    Reply
    • Ha, love it! It’s just too funny when you come across the post and you totally think you might have written it. 😉
      I do like to go a bit crazy when I go out. It’s such a rare occurrence that I try to just have myself a great time and, of course, get down with my bad self! I think a lot of people are embarrassed to let loose and so they use the excuse of alcohol for their crazy antics they wish they could have done sober. I know, I don’t like the driving with a few drinks in me but I had like my own… chaperon with my mom coming out there. Plus, I made sure to wait a while before I headed out too. Love that your a vodka girl, but my stomach isn’t a fan of the stuff either. Oh well, it’s better than beer, I just can’t stand it, even if it is cheaper.
      Hey, I enjoyed your comment very much! Very glad you could relate, sometimes I feel like I’m the only one who randomly busts a groove.

      Reply
  2. ..Drinking chamomile tea is effective in alleviating indigestion and stomach cramps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

