Product Whore

I think that I am not the only woman who does this. Shoes, clothes, purses, and all sorts of other stuff I could barely bat an eye at let alone waste my money on. But, getting into the whole spa industry I find my Achille’s heel which before I could care less about… I literally didn’t do anything and went on with my day without a care in the world. Now, it’s my ritual, my life, and my spending habit I can’t quite nix and give myself the blind eye when it comes to ordering it.

Oh, yes, I am talking about the face products. I. love. them. Toners, cleansers, masks, moisturizers, all of it and more. Of course, I am not a make-up person by no means, but I certainly am a face product whore. I even go for eye cremes! When we get the information to order off the backbar of the products that we use at my work I go crazy. I just can’t help it, I need that serum I haven’t tried, I need to try this face product, I want to get more of this, and before you know it my tally is up to near $200.

$200 is ridiculous to spend on myself! I try not to spend that much in a month let alone in a moment of weakness to feed my face product addiction. But, I do think that there is a physiological reason why I want/need/find comfort in my ritual of face products. It’s about the only thing I do consistently to take care of myself every day.

Once upon a time I was a teenager, and I had really great skin all throughout my life… and then I turned about 17 or so. My skin broke out in not just my face, which was horrid, but I also had cystic acne on my back and shoulders to the point where I couldn’t sleep at night. It was humiliating, my brother had gone through the same horrible skin scenario and I thought I wouldn’t have the same problem. I also thought, stupidly enough, that I’d be able to resist having glasses but that happened too. This one time my skin was so bad that I got my first mini-facial at this place out of state and the lady was super rude and talked to other people about how horrible my skin was to other people in front of me.

This lasted for about a year or so and I ended up getting diagnosed with polycystic ovarian syndrome, I got put on birth control, and found out I had a cyst that was bigger than the size of my ovary. The cyst supposedly disappeared, but it took about 2 years or so before that happened. The acne disappeared once I was put on birth control but what never left me was how having bad skin made me want to go inside of a big hole and bury myself in it. I didn’t want to be seen in public, I didn’t want anything to do with anyone, and I wished I could walk outside with a bag on my head to hide my problem.

So, here I am, years later being introduced to face products, which I had never used, and I’m hooked. I figure if I’m not going to be a make-up wearer I may as well make my skin the best that I can. Now, let’s see if I can remove a product here or there from my list so I don’t have to pay as much…

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. tknologlvr

     /  March 5, 2011

    If it makes you feel beautiful and self-confident, then go for it!! No need to feel belittled.

    Reply
    • Oh, but the money, the money! My bank account is yelling at me all ready with how much I’m thinking about spending. I just can’t help but to be tempted by face products, it’s my thing.

      Reply
      • tknologlvr

         /  March 5, 2011

        I her ya…I want too many Apple products!

  2. Well, now you know for next time! Because what I’m hearing here really is a positive thing–it’s self-care, and comfort, and ritual, all of which are really lacking in everyday society (hopefully you’re able to find these things in other ways too, but on a day-to-day level it can be hard).

    I used to get a lot of beauty products for free or super-cheap because I worked in women’s magazines. And I still got joy out of them, to be sure, but I also found that on the rare occasion when I paid for something at retail value I really valued it more, in a way. There’s something about not just the daily ritual of putting on a nice face cream, but the decision of “I’m going to spend this money on myself, because it makes me feel good,” that makes it powerful. So you spent $200 this time–next time you’ll spend less, or you’ll figure out which product it is that you love and that you know you’re going to look forward to purchasing again, and that might make it even more of a treat.

    Reply
    • I do think that it is a self-care thing with beauty stuff, and I could spend the same amount I spent on moisturizers, cleansers, etc. on just an expensive $100 purse, or $100 or so in clothes, so each person has their way of spending money.
      I get my products, which are high end stuff, for a good discount so that definitely helps things out, right? This is usually my 6 month-a year stock up so I’m good for awhile. It is like a treat for me so I guess I can take it easy on myself with spending the money on it. 😉

      Reply
  3. oh totally. im a major product whore and it makes me feel super guilty, but its true!

    Reply
    • From one product whore to another, I really do feel your pain! You just can’t help it, right? It’s just too good to pass up and you gotta get it, everything else I can say no to but not my special little face products. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

