The Announcement

I’ve decided to let everyone know about my engagement on Sunday. Why would I do that? Don’t get me wrong, I am beyond happy that I don’t have to talk about setting a date, what I’m doing, who is coming, where I’m getting married, etc, etc. when I come in to work. This is my whole point of keeping secret is that I don’t want to be bothered and if someone bugs me every day I work about ‘setting a date’ and all that crap I am gonna snap at them for sure.

But, I ran into someone who I knew from work when I had Mr. Sparkles on my finger and I had to immediately hide him in my coat pocket. Luckily for me she didn’t seem to notice the huge rock and I hid him in time, but I don’t want to be worried about coming across co-workers wherever I go and having to hid him. Plus, it has been about 5 months since I got engaged so I think that’s a pretty good run without people finding out about it.  

I will wear him at our little bi-monthly meeting. This is the first time in 2 weeks that I haven’t had to work so I really do enjoy the break and going back to normalcy with my schedule. It’s nice to have those 2 week days off and Wednesdays tend to be my fun play day where I go into the city and see my brother, and Thursdays is my errand day and when I drive over to be with the fiancée. He’s been in another state for a few days because of his job so we haven’t been able to talk and so it’ll be nice to get to spend some time together tomorrow.

At least I’m mentally prepped to deal with whatever questions they ask me. I know what people ask me as soon as they find out I’m engaged is, “did you set the date?” Well, yes, errr, maybe, there’s an idea of when it might be. Nothing is set in stone though and I really don’t have a clue on quite a bit of it, but people don’t have to know that.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Its your engagment, your wedding. You can be however you want to be! People will just have to accept that.

    Reply
    • Exactly! And if they don’t accept it then I could pretty much care less anyways… it’s gonna go down how me and the man want it to. Now, if only I could figure out what that is going to be and get some stuff planned!

      Reply
  2. Why wear the ring at all if you don’t want to be bothered. Don’t you know that the questions won’t stop after your engaged……..after the wedding you will be hounded about starting a family……..well, you can hide that condition for at least three months…..

    spread the humor: charlywalker.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • The thing is is that I get bothered anyways about when I’m getting married and all that without being engaged. If they hound me I’ll just bare my teeth and that works pretty well to get people to leave me alone.

      I do get what you’re saying, which is what I’ve thought about and why I’ve held back. But, I’d rather tell anyone myself rather than it being revealed through gossip what happened. Anywho, thank you for commenting and it’s nice to meet ya!

      Reply
  3. tknologlvr

     /  March 3, 2011

    No rush! It’s your schedule, not anyone else’s!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

