The Cock’s Walk

I’ve never been a cocky person, confidence always used to be a huge issue of mine. It still is when it comes to my body, my looks, and my view on my own appearance, I don’t think I’m hot shit. I try not to look at myself too often, to tell you the truth. I always find something wrong with me if I look for too long so I just try to look quickly and be done. Which does not exactly work when you’re trying to do make-up I’ve figured out.

I’ve put on make-up basically with my eyes closed because I seriously don’t know what I’m doing.

But, in my profession, I’m come to terms that I think I’m the cock’s walk. I am proud of my work, I am confident when it comes to massage, and feel pretty dang proud of what I do and the massages I give.

Body treatments… not so much. I feel like I’m trying to wing my way through it, but my traditional, little fusion swedish I do I think I’m pretty damn good. I can give a lot of pressure, or, I can give a lighter massage if they need it. I can exclude stuff out of my normal routine, or change it up. I know the usual spots and areas that give people with upper back problems. And that is 99.9% of my clients that I see come in for a massage have upper back issues.

I think, with women especially, it’s hard for us to be confident. We can be our worst critics, we know our faults, our scars, our imperfections and we’re hard on ourselves. My confidence in my profession is something I’m afraid I may get too cocky in, but I’m not too worried about it. There was that struggle of beating myself up for not doing as well as I thought, when really I did a good job, or second guessing myself. I like the not second guessing myself with at least that aspect in my life.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Confidence is a tricky thing. I used to be very confident and proud of my education, but then people, who envy me, started to talk that I am thinking I´m better and smarter than they are and that I think other people are stupid. So, a confident girl is a bitch 😉

    Isn´t that sweet?

    I think you should be allowed to be proud if you are good at something and you have worked hard to reach your goal to be good at something.

    XX
    Maria

    Reply
    • I know totally what you mean, Maria, that a confident girl is generally called a bitch most of the time. I say they’re just jealous and they wish they had that kind of confidence. I have that same feeling for being myself and being goofy like I can be, and girls acting like they’re better than me, that they wish they could bring down their guards and have fun like I do. 😀

      I agree with you, confidence is a hard thing to have and you might as well celebrate and be proud.

      Reply
  2. I can’t remember the last time i’ve gotten a massage. I think we all struggle with confidence from time to time, sometimes you gotta just put your middle finger up to the world and tell yourself you’re pretty damn great.

    Reply
    • Massages are the best, for sure. I try to get one once a month even though I give them, it got me into this.

      Thank you, I love that! Put your middle finger to the world and just tell yourself you’re pretty damn great, that’s definitely some great advice and I totally agree. It’s a struggle enough to be confident, you might as well just keep your confidence and be proud of yourself.

      Reply
  3. marinasleeps

     /  September 20, 2010

    Lol your title is misrepresenting … until you read the blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

