I’m a dinosaur in modern times

I don’t have a Facebook, I don’t have even a compatible T.V. for the new digital thing which makes my channels that I watch mainly being Discovery and TBS. I was super excited about Shark Week, but unfortunately it’s just Shark Week not Shark Month. I’m back to reruns of Sex and the City that some of them I could just quote bit by bit. I keep it a secret that I watch the show, a couple of girls at work found out and I never heard the end of it… and the disbelief that I’d watch it. I’m not the most girly girl out there.

I still have a CD player with CDs, I refuse to convert with that.

I have a Gameboy that has color but besides that doesn’t have much else.

I never got a Myspace when that was popular either.

I talk about ‘back in my day’ like I’m much older than I am. The truth is, I’ve always felt like I’m much older than I am. I’m an old spirit in a young body, if that makes any sense. It was always assumed that when I was 12 I was actually 25 when I was younger. My mom let me run wild as a kid outside and I played for hours tracking down crickets, grasshoppers, moths, and god knows what I could get my hands on. Bugs did not scare me in the least, I was not a girl who saw a worm and went, “eek!”

No, I put that worm on a hook and went fishing with it.

I don’t get how kids nowadays may not be interested in playing outside, I loved playing outside for hours. Don’t get me wrong, I did love playing on my brother’s PSP 1 when he went off to college and I was more than happy to take care of that while he was gone. But, even to this day, I stay away from technology (except for my handy, dandy lap top) and I’m behind on every trend out there. All of my girls at work are wearing silly bandz, no way for me. I’m behind on all of the ‘cool stuff’ and I don’t mind.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. You don´t have a Facebook account?!!!

    Seriously?!

    🙂

    I was the same as a kid. I got this feeling that I was born as a 35 years old single mom 😛 Sad, eh.

    But I´m afraid of creepy crawlies. They scare me every time I find one while gardening!

    X
    Maria

    Reply
  2. Errr… no, I don’t have a Facebook account.

    But my mom does, funnily enough. 😉

    That’s not sad at all! I’ve always related to people much older than me and never kids my own age, so I can totally relate.

    Creepy crawlies won’t hurt you, they’re pretty interesting to study. I’m always the girl to get called in to kill the critters, the girls I work with just start jumping and screaming and pointing, it’s hilarious. 😀

    Reply
  3. marinasleeps

     /  August 19, 2010

    I kinda just follow what people tell me. The girls rave about The Bad Girls Club and when I saw it I was like .. this is real?
    And I watch it with horror and awe all at the same time.
    My kids are Nick freaks so I got into Icarly all by myself. I work with computers so I have learned along the way but when I am home I never use the computer. Computers mean work!

    Reply
    • I know, I tend to do the same thing with my mom and how she watches crazy reality stuff. It’s like a train wreck, right? It’s hard to look away from the craziness! I just watched an episode yesterday where they started yelling, screaming at each other and one of the girls spat at a guy, then threw water at him, which I just shook my head and kept on watching.

      Ohh… I totally loved Nick! They had the best cartoons when I was growing up, so I loved it. And I’m happy I don’t have to work with computers at my work, they seem to decide not to work for you if you’re on the clock and doing something. Anywho, thank you for stopping by!

      Reply
      • marinasleeps

         /  August 19, 2010

        Duh! Now I know what I trying to compare the Bad Girls Club … A CAR WRECK.

  4. Nobody should have ever had a myspace, so you did good by not having one. Facebook can be helpful if you use it right. I had a cd player for the longest time but i can honestly say converting to the Ipod has been the best investment i’ve ever made.

    http://minilaptop410.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • Well, I’m glad I did good by not getting a myspace, and all of my people at work announce stuff on facebook so that kinda annoys me a bit since I don’t have it. I’ll eventually have to convert to an ipod or whatever… but not yet. I’m glad you like you converting to it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

