Blog my Shortcomings

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs… a lot. And so, I’m getting a sort of complex because lots of these are freaking funny. And, don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty freaking hilarious but I’m more of that funny person because they make fun of themselves and do stupid shit (action) type of funny rather than (written) funny.Of course, I say funny stuff before/during a massage sometimes and get people to laugh, but it’s like that random, spontaneous stuff I don’t think about.

I could never write funny stories, or purposely try to have something be funny in written text, short stories especially, because I’d feel like that person really pushing a joke and all you hear is crickets and muffled coughing in response to your funny ‘act.’ There’s no doubt in my mind that some people get my kind of funny in real life, and if they don’t, then they’re missing that funny chip to get it and that’s their loss.

People are hilarious on here, h-i-l-a-r-i-o-u-s. And I find myself chuckling even though I’m alone. Have you ever tried that experiment to see how much you rely on other people to laugh? Watch a comedy by yourself and notice if you laugh less when there isn’t someone there to laugh with you. I was in a not-so-packed movie theater seeing the movie “Get Low” which was awesome, by the way, and there were a few of the parts where me and my mom were chuckling together but the other 5 people in the theater not as much. And that movie has Bill Murray in it… and he just got me to at least smile once I saw his character because, hey, it’s Bill Murray.

I find it’s not a good idea to compare yourself to other people. You’re your own person, and that’s the way it should be, but even I fall away to my shortcomings. I want to be the best, maybe not here cause’ I know I’m not the best, but especially with my career. I want to have the best numbers, have clients really love me, and if they don’t love me, then it’s kinda like that funny chip being missing with some people and it really is their loss. Now, don’t get me wrong, the smart side of me says that not every massage therapist will be perfect for every client… even me. Some will want trigger point, thai massage, who knows what, and every one of us have been trained differently so someone may fit you better. But, the conceited side of me says that just can’t be true.

Just like every blog is different and could be perfect for someone, but then maybe not fit for someone else. You may love a blog which has recipes that you can try at home, or you may be like me and be unable to even make a decent mac and cheese. Your voice is your voice, uniquely you, and your experiences separate you from everyone else. Yes, someone may experience something that you’re going through, but your reactions, and how you live through it will be special to each person every time.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Funny or not, I like your blog 😀

    I´m a hilarious girl. Weird things happen to me. I´m witty and I would be an amazing stand-up comedienne if I didn´t hate talking in public (I don´t love my own voice etc etc) 🙂

    Also, there are so many different ways of being hilarious…

    X
    Maria

    Reply
    • I’m glad that you like it, Maria, I like your blog too!
      I actually love talking in public, public speaking, is that weird? It was one of my favorite classes in college because it was one of the most difficult… I was such a shy person as a kid so it was a huge step for me, but I do hate the sound of my voice too if I hear it recorded. 😉
      And I agree, there are different ways of being hilarious.

      Reply
  2. Oh, you have public speaking as a school subject there 🙂 We don´t get much training for public speaking. I always had to take sedatives if I had an presentation in university. I was so nervous!

    🙂
    M

    Reply
    • I’m pretty sure public speaking was a requirement for me to take as a class. I was always nervous with public speaking too, but ended up doing quite a bit of it with some of my volunteer work and now I’m meeting new people every day, talking with them, and massaging them, so I had to get over my shyness and could see myself doing public speaking maybe if I had to.

      Reply
  3. That´s great 🙂

    I´m not that shy anymore either. Must be the age healing that, too 😉

    -M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

