Bitter is as bitter does

I know somebody who is super, duper bitter… and for good reason, I don’t blame them for it. And I’ve been raised to basically expect shit nothing and be super surprised, excited, and amazed when I get something more. But, I find it exhausting mentally and physically to work on extremely negative clients, who have a ‘woe is me’ attitude which is not helping them get past their body issues and probably making it worse. Even when I was single I tried to be happy and excited for people who met someone… all I ask is for the guy to treat them well and make them happy.

Okay, I’ll admit it, when girls get roses at work for Valentine’s Day and stuff I’d grumble when I was single. And maybe think about stealing a rose and putting it in my room and pretending someone gave it to me. “Oh, is that from your boyfriend?” “Oh… yeah.”

And when they got chocolates I’d want to steal a tiny bite and put it back in the box.

But, I didn’t, I was good, I just thought of it.

I also can’t stand it when people complain about being slow with services, then they get somewhat booked or really booked, and then complain about that. I am more than happy to be booked, no one bothers me when I have about 4-5 massages and I have just enough time to eat a lunch. Also, I don’t mind too much staying late for work either, I’m happy to be there, even if it’s in the morning and I am so not a morning person. That’s not to say I don’t get irked when my lunch becomes non-existent and I get 4 chair massages booked back-to-back… but that’s mainly because I cannot stand chair massages.

I can get being mad and angry at men for what you’ve been put through with the jaded person. For a long time I was the same way, but deep down I am a bit of a hopeless romantic. I love little cards, sweet text messages, candlelit dinners, cuddling, ect. I’m not very trusting and I don’t want to trust people. I want even less for people to know about my personal life if they know me, I think my managers sometimes don’t know what to think of me, how to predict me, because they know nothing about me. I’ve tasted what it’s like to be bitter and find it much better if I’m positive and I’m optimistic.

It takes a lot of energy for me to be mad at someone… especially if it’s the entire opposite gender. And, don’t get me wrong, I’ve growled at a few guys who have looked my way to scare them off (the man included). The person literally said they were jaded, and I know if I tried to discuss why it’d just get them heated, so I let them blow off steam. In due time the bitterness will wear off or be too much to be palpable.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. MinaMedia

     /  August 18, 2010

    i am so sorry for finding this hilariously similar to what goes on in my mind! i love your writing voice. mucho.

    Reply
  2. Awww, why thank you for the nice compliment, I appreciate it! I can’t believe your mind can be like mine, my mind is like a battlefield, I swear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

