When I grow up I wanna be…

You know those kids that were super smart and super sure of what they wanted to be when they grew up? They told you without a doubt they were doing this and those kids were like… 5 years old or so? Well, I wasn’t one of them.

I never became that kid who knew what they wanted to do even after I should have had a clue. In college it was the exact same thing, I didn’t know what I wanted as a degree, I didn’t know what field I wanted to go into, I didn’t have a clue where to go or what to do. My first career was a babysitter, second (real one) was a dog groomer… and I hate dogs. But, what I hated more than dogs, or so I thought so, was people. I was a shy person, and though I haven’t been sure what I want to be I knew what I didn’t want to do.

I didn’t want to spend my entire time on a computer.

I didn’t want to do retail. (which is funny, because part of my job with being in a spa is doing retail).

I did want to maybe work with animals.

I did want to maybe do something in the health field.

The one thing that held me back every time was my arch nemesis, Math. I can’t do math, don’t get me wrong, I do know how to add, subtract, divide, multiply, and I keep an active account of how much money I spend a month and I can understand how much I’ve saved and spent with a paycheck. But, geometry, algebra (letters are not allowed with numbers in my mind) and other forms just fly over my head. So, a lot of stuff in the health field was thrown out, and I tried things, like dog grooming, to see what kind of worker I was. I found out that I love working on a team, that I don’t hate people, and that I like something that I’m working with my hands and on my feet.

I went from no clue to some clue, to now a career. I call my work a job sometimes because it isn’t always easy to do, it’s stressful, clients are late, and sometimes I’m overbooked, without a lunch, and I’ve had to learn to roll with the punches. I never could have told you that when I was younger I’d take on this career. I thought the closest might be a vet tech or something like that, or maybe taking the plunge and going through groomer’s school, but I knew I wouldn’t have kept that as a career.

As physical as massage can be, dog grooming even just as a bather/brusher wore me down to the bone. I’d be soaking wet all day long, with scratches, and sometimes bites, and fighting with animals sometimes even heavier than me, and certainly stronger. It was so fast paced and crazy, let alone loud and obnoxious, that it would drive me nuts. Yet, working with the other groomers made it awesome, being so close and working as such a tight knit team, and there were certain dogs that I came to love.

And, certain owners too I came to enjoy seeing  just as much as their pooches. I’m still not a dog person though, I guess I’m more of a people person than I thought I was.

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yes, I wasn´t one of those kids who knew what I wanted to be! I kind of still don´t know…!

    🙂

    Reply
    • That’s okay, I think that’s the fun in life is just flying by the seat of your pants and figuring stuff out as it comes to you. I’m certainly not a person who plans out their life every second and knows what they’re doing ten years from now… I always seemed to come across kids like that who knew everything they wanted, so I felt pretty silly. But, now, I don’t mind too much. Thanks for commenting and for stopping by my little ol’ blog, Maria! 😀

      Reply
  2. What you said is so true, I think 🙂

    I´ve been here earlier, too. But only now I left a comment, too 😀

    Reply
    • Well, I’m glad to see you stopping by and commenting, I always like to see what lurkers are out there. 😉 Yeah, it’s hard deciding what you want to do, but the fun in it is just discovering who you are and what you like and trying different things.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

