A waste of money or not?

I struggle with the idea of going back to school to get my Bachelor’s. I love college, enjoy learning more and getting an education, but I don’t have the money for it and find that when I interview for jobs, every single one of them never even look at my Associate’s I got. Especially with this profession it seems they want to make sure I’m licensed, I’m covered with liability insurance, and I have some helpful continuing ed with massage. Do I know sports massage? Hot stone? Prenatal? Thai massage? The Associate’s would be placed back inside of my folder quickly and I’d bring out the necessary paperwork.

Getting an education isn’t a waste of money, I do believe that. Educating yourself and learning more about the world around you and taking classes was one of my favorite things when I was a student. But, when that bill comes out of my paycheck and my folks are no longer helping me out with it… I’m stuck. Let alone, even in college, I didn’t know what to major in. I ended up getting an Associate’s Degree in General Studies. If I did have a degree I’d want one that would be versatile enough to be used in a number of situations and would be helpful for what I was doing.

I still don’t know what I’d major in. Something useful, right? I know how much college costs but it feels almost to me that the Bachelor’s has become the Associate’s, and the Master’s has become the Bachelor’s. I’ve heard from a lot of people after getting their Bachelor degree that they can’t use it toward the field, or even seem to get their foot in the job door.

I’d hate to be $20,000 or more in debt with a Bachelor’s, and it turns out to be just another piece of paper. To me, it means so much more with my associate degree and to have it.

I have that itch to go back to school … and that is an expensive itch to scratch. I’m hoping I might get financial aid when the time is right, but if I can’t, I don’t think I can do it. It’s something I’ve thought about since I graduated college. I graduated from college about the same time I graduated from massage school, and it was just so weird not to be a student. You whine about homework and teachers, but when you don’t have it you tend to miss it. Or, at least, I certainly did.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

