Is my introversion showing?

DSC00156As much as I can fool everyone else that I am an extrovert I just can’t do the same with myself, and you better believe I have tried. Sometimes you just know as a kid that being around with people drains you, and that you totally crave ‘me‘ time. I was always that quiet and shy kid who always loved to just be alone with herself and my imagination would just run wild. If I ever was sent to my room for being bad or whatever reason I would relish in the quiet time and bring out my toys to play with them.

The only thing that has changed about me is I know how to handle people to make them feel at ease. I know how to make them believe that I am an extrovert and being considered an extrovert seems to make people feel comfortable. I put a lot of energy into being outgoing, loud, and fun at work which is who I am, but I don’t have enough energy at the end of my work day to go out and be social. After a day where I push myself all I can think about is coming home to my husband and being quiet and just taking it easy.

005With my job you can have some down time and when there’s down time people expect me to be around other people. On certain days I can push myself to be social and interact, but sometimes, I just can’t and that is when I generally keep to myself. During these forced quiet times I think that my introversion is showing, and I try my best to not to let it show, yet I can’t deny when all I want to do is recharge in peace and quiet.  My profession of massage has me being with people all the time when I’m busy, and if I have a day when my clients want to talk during their session I can get particularly exhausted. Luckily, it tends to be unusual for a client that needs to talk during their massage and even more peculiar for there to be more than one in a day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve become quite accustomed to the declaration that I am crazy. Pretty much everyone says it and growing up as a kid who was always called strange and an oddball I’ve learned to wear it like a badge of honor. My favorite thing to say in response, though I have many, is You wish you could be this kind of crazy!” Even when I was younger the other kids would try to bully me about my strangeness, and my anti-social nature, and back then I would still take it as a part of myself. I was unique, extremely unusual, and there was really nothing wrong with who I was unless I wanted to believe them.

So, on days where I know my introversion is showing I just tell myself it is a part of me. I can dance, and be goofy, and be crazy without a second thought but when I come home it’s time to press that recharge button.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This makes me so glad people around me understand that, though I am sociable as my job requires, I am an introvert. It still causes a little dissonance between me and my husband, but even he gets now how draining I find social action . . . and that I am not mad at him if I need quiet time!

    Reply
    • Yeah, that is definitely a great thing the people around your job understand when you need me time. When I’m honest about needing some me time at my work I tend to get told that I’m crabby since I always seem to have a lot of energy which can take a lot out of me. My husband is an extrovert too and he always tends to think I’m mad at him if I need some quiet time, especially after a particularly draining day at work. I love my career but sometimes clients chose to have some very odd conversations with you and I find it super exhausting when they ask personal questions about my life. Thanks for commenting from one introvert to another! :-)

      Reply
  2. Boy, this really rang a bell with me! I crave “me” time more and more these days it seems!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers

