My husbands job is furloughed

If you asked me if I knew it was coming, honestly, I’d say I felt it and knew that this would be the outcome. I got back from a trip with my mom and something was slightly off about my husband and I could sense it but I thought I was crazy. He took me aside when we’d brought up my luggage and I met him in his room as he told me he had something to say. I immediately stated that didn’t sound good, yet I never imagined how serious it would be.

His job is being furloughed. After many lows and very little highs they are letting him go at the end of the year since they won’t need his position. Tears started streaming down my face and I started crying, he held me as I shook and sobbed in the bed together. My worst fear is for him to lose his job, because I’ve never made enough money for the both of us and not having money is one of my biggest fears and I know this. He is so specific with his field that its hard enough to place him in a job position, so very quickly my world crashed around me.

I’ve been blessed as a kid, teenager, and an adult, that my parents have only lost a job once that I remember, even though they fought about money every day. I’ve never had to face this before, though the year of me searching for a job once I moved definitely put a lot of fear in me of the reality of how difficult it can be to be hired.

My rational side of me says to calm down, that everything must happen for a reason. There is some plan with what happened, there is hopefully an opportunity, a better one, waiting for us at the end of this. If this opportunity is waiting for us, I keep questioning how long we will struggle for it, if we have the money to survive, pay bills, and have food on our table. I can’t even imagine if the opportunity of something better not being there because it is a dark road I do not want to look down, or travel. I was really hoping for things to level out, get easier at least, with my finding a job, yet it’s not meant to be.

If there is anything I have faith in its my husband and I. I love him, and through all of our trials and difficulties it just has to make us stronger. I guess this is the time in my life to struggle, to really struggle, and I’ve taught myself slowly but surely to lean on my husband more over the years. I am a firm believer in everything happens for a reason, every amazing, and crummy thing in our lives is there for us to grow, become stronger, or learn something new about us. So, it’s just been a lot to go through and I just have to trust my husband and hope this will lead us to a better path. I just don’t want there to be too many rocks, sticks, and obstacles for us to stumble over first.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Oh no. I’ve been there a couple of times so I can totally sympathise with how you’re feeling. You’ll work it out some way. Just have faith and try not to panic (although I know it is easier said than done). Good luck! xx

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your comment, I really appreciate it and I am trying my best to have faith and not panic. My husband is handling it like a pro, so that definitely helps out, and just telling myself if we move again, far away, or some place else, I am ready for that too.

      Reply
  2. Oh, Girl, I’m SO sorry!! I am terrified about lack of financial security as well, so I can’t imagine getting that kind of news… Keep remembering that you have your health and your husband. That alone makes you rich beyond belief. I truly believe that there is something amazing ahead for you. Hang in there… And know that you are in my thoughts and prayers!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, financial security is a huge thing for me and any kind of question about not having enough money just puts me in a tail spin! I am hoping that there is something amazing ahead and just trying to keep positive as best as I can. Just looking at it hopefully as an opportunity for us to experience something new for us and thank for keeping us in your thoughts and prayers! :-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers

